Last minute change

Recently, I got really tired of people being jerks about my wedding. My fiance said to me the other night, “Honey, the devil is really going to try and attack our marriage.” Much as I hate this, the devil has been using my family to do his dirty work.

I’ve mentioned the situation with my sister in a previous post. Things are much better with her now, and I’m so glad. But my extended family (aunts, cousins) decided they wouldn’t be able to make it to my bridal shower because they had to work. Having given 3 months notice on the invitations, I was astounded.

Someone else will be out of town, another person has already taken too much time off work .. and then there are the legitimate reasons for not showing up. I get being busy, but I don’t understand being transparently disrespectful.

I had planned my shower to be in my hometown so family members could make it. What a joke! I’m the one paying hundreds of dollars to fly there for a few days. I’m the one missing work. There are just some things you don’t do to other people. This is one of them.

I was angry at first, VERY angry. Then I felt wounded and ashamed. But after a couple weeks, I realized my feelings and stress level about this were my own fault. If I hadn’t made my plans to please people who I have never been able to please, I wouldn’t have been hurt by them.

Proverbs says, “Guard your heart for out of it flow the wellsprings of life.”

Lesson learned, Jesus.

(PS: We’re having the wedding in Dallas now!)

Leave a Reply

