Puppy love

Shower
Photos of me and Brent on a table at my bridal shower.

There was warmth in the air, from both the fire behind the stone hearth and from the great friendship that courted us as we celebrated.

My bridal shower was more than I could have expected! My sister and good friend Monique rented a cabin at Chestnut Ridge State Park in Orchard Park, NY and it was outstanding. Inside were two great stone fireplaces, a kitchen, finished picnic tables and amazing mantles. Outside we were surrounded by smoky colored birches stabbing through the spring fog.

Stepping through French doors out the back of the cabin, we found a large patio with a wooden banquette. A small grassy knoll led down a little grade and up to a wooden corral fence. Large, old maples, birches, beeches, cherries and chestnuts served as natural framework for the gorgeous view we had of a sparkling green lake.

A gentle rain sprinkled the top of the water, pounding out its own tiny tune for us to enjoy in between snapping photos, hitting the trails and warming our hands by the fire. The rich scent of pulled pork, bacon-stuffed mushrooms and orangey mimosas infused laughter, games, storytelling and novel reading.

It was a truly grand day.

The girls strung a pennant sign reading “puppy love” on the hearth and set up photos of me and my fiance with tea lights surrounding on the tables. Mason jars with floating tea lights lined the center of our table. Stainless steel dog bowls wrapped with paw print ribbon held “puppy chow” snacks. Jar favors holding matches and specialty tea lights were covered with paw print cloth and little collars and tags. A sticker pasted on them read “It’s a Match!”

Overall, the day wasn’t what I expected it would be like. I thought it would be chic and sophisticated, much like my sister’s was in 1998. Instead, my bridal shower was a whole lot more like the summer after I graduated from high school, also in 1998. I had a few good friends, acted silly, played corny (yet awesome) games, cooked, baked, ate good and had a big time just being ourselves.

It was a perfect day.

 

 

Leave a Reply

